I'm new to plasma cutter CNC

For general topics and questions that do not fit into any of the other categories or forums.
SaidAb
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

I'm new to plasma cutter CNC

Post by SaidAb »

I'm new to this job , plasma cutter CNC machine, I noticed we have a regular problem in accuracy, we have a sheet of 6000 mm in 1500 mm , we cut from this metal sheet 3 pieces of 6000 mm in 485 mm , but we get in reality:
6000 mm in 485 mm
6000 mm in 487 mm
6000 mm in 489 mm ( in the other end 485 mm )

In our small factory 486 mm is accepted but 489 is not accepted.
How can we solve this accuracy problem ?
Any tips please ?
(Take in notice we use Max pro 200 hypertherm machine with UCCNC software for the machine. We use a process of marking 2 points in the two ends of the sheet by the machine laser pointer to put two references for the software and the machine to make the cutting accurate, I don't know how you guys call this process )
Thanks for the tips in advance.
weldguy
4.5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: I'm new to plasma cutter CNC

Post by weldguy »

Am I correct in thinking you don't draw your rectangle in CAD software but instead you use a laser to mark the points the machine is to move to?
tcaudle
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
4 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by tcaudle »

Not sure if he is trying ot use the material edge as one side ? 1500 divided by 43 is 500mm so you have kerf width to add in . Looks like simple lines like slicing bread if the 6000 length is the outside.

Its growing 2mm each cut so either they are not figuring in the kerf width or the cross axis calibration is off
SaidAb
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Post by SaidAb »

tcaudle wrote: Mon Sep 23, 2024 12:25 pm Not sure if he is trying ot use the material edge as one side ? 1500 divided by 43 is 500mm so you have kerf width to add in . Looks like simple lines like slicing bread if the 6000 length is the outside.