Advices for beginner in cutting dxf gates designs

For general topics and questions that do not fit into any of the other categories or forums.
treerot789
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Advices for beginner in cutting dxf gates designs

Post by treerot789 »

Hello. I'd really appreciate if someone could help me regarding this subject. I have a mechanized plasma cutter which I used only for cutting metal pieces for pre-engineered metal structures.

I am a beginner in this domain, and now I would like to learn to cut home gates designs. I have found thousands of dxf designs on internet for money but most of them are very ugly :HaHa. But this is not the important fact.. I would like to learn how to use them and to modify them so I can fit in the clients dimensions.. Can anyone help with some information.. some tutorial videos? Thanks a lot!
cuttinparts
3 Star Member
3 Star Member

Re: Advices for beginner in cutting dxf gates designs

Post by cuttinparts »

That is really going to depend on what software you are working with to modify the gate designs.

What design software are you working with?
treerot789
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Post by treerot789 »

For the nesting I use FastNest, is the software which came with the Cnc controller, and for modifying the designs I don’t have any software.. I’m completely blank in this subject. Do you know any program I can use?
Deezl Smoke
2.5 Star Member
2.5 Star Member

Post by Deezl Smoke »

I am a beginner, and also an old man that did not come up in this world with computers. I was able to learn to use Q-cad to create and modify dxf files as well as convert a dxf file to a pdf file for the client to be able to view and approve before cutting.