Cutting .25" aluminum

Cut quality issues can be discussed here, most common issues have been discussed here and should help you.
KKesner
1 Star Member
1 Star Member

Cutting .25" aluminum

Post by KKesner »

Hello all this is my first time posting a question on here so I hope its correct. I was cutting .25 inch aluminum yesterday and it was my first time at cutting aluminum. I did a search for aluminum and read all that I found on the subject. I have a Torchmate 4x4 growth series, Hypertherm PM 65 and an air dryer. I was cutting 7075 T6 at book spec except for speed. There is very little edge bevel as well as dross but the cut edge is not smooth. Now all that I have read on here and other places said that the edge will not be as good as mild steel and my question is. Is this as good as I should expect or should it be better. Thanks for any help.

45 amps
.15 PH
.06 CH
50 IPM
142 Volts

Thanks
Ken
Attachments
Aluminum .25.jpg
"Only two defining forces have ever offered to die for you; Jesus Christ and the American G. I. One died for your soul; the other for your freedom."
urbnsr
3 Star Member
3 Star Member

Re: Cutting .25" aluminum

Post by urbnsr »

Well, I can't say if it can get any better, but that looks just like what I get when I cut 1/4"-3/8" 6061. I do get dross buildup right where the table slats are, but it comes off easy.

HTH
Paul
KKesner
1 Star Member
1 Star Member

Post by KKesner »

Thanks for your reply. I had dross as well at the slats and I guess that can be expected due to no place for it to go. I also forgot to mention that there were a lot of small chips that was all over the rails and gantry when I finished the cuts. Is this normal as well for aluminum?

Thanks,
Ken
"Only two defining forces have ever offered to die for you; Jesus Christ and the American G. I. One died for your soul; the other for your freedom."
Gamelord
4.5 Star Member
4.5 Star Member

Post by Gamelord »