Newbie with a few quality questions

Cut quality issues can be discussed here, most common issues have been discussed here and should help you.
oldmountaincrafts
2 Star Member
2 Star Member

Newbie with a few quality questions

Post by oldmountaincrafts »

We have a new 4x4 LDR water table and are having a blast testing everything out and cutting away. Being totally new to the plasma side of art, we have a few questions. I've downloaded and cut several files from this site and they look pretty great when they are finished. I'm a designer myself, but never for plasma cutting. I'm finding that some of my files look pretty awful when cut out and I'm at a loss as to where to start tweaking things. One of the first things I'm finding is that all my lettering is being rounded off. Even though the file looks fine and is very straight when using a serif font, once cut it is rounding every edge over? Is this a problem with the design part or how I generated the g-code? As I said, we are complete newbies to plasma cutting. We also have a laser for our business that I use the same files with and don't have any problems. That may be part of my downfall, but I'm just not sure. Any and all help is appreciated.
LDR Motionsystems 4x4 plasma
Hypertherm 45
Laser 4 X 4
Full woodshop
dhelfter
2.5 Star Member
2.5 Star Member

Re: Newbie with a few quality questions

Post by dhelfter »

What thickness material, amperage being used, and size of feature (letter size) all have an affect on rounded corners. The table is set with an acceleration of 35IPSs You can raise this, however we have noticed that going higher than 50 causes some vibration. There is a difference between acceleration and controlled acceleration.