Edge Issue on 3/8" Plate

Cut quality issues can be discussed here, most common issues have been discussed here and should help you.
pdjcutandfab
2.5 Star Elite Contributing Member
2.5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Edge Issue on 3/8" Plate

Post by pdjcutandfab »

I am trying to cut some 3/8" plate for a customer and I am not having very good luck (I've attached some pictures that show what I'm talking about). Whats hapening is the machine is cutting thru the material but when you look at the finished part the edge has a pretty decent taper to it. I have a Torchmate 3 w/ a Cutmaster A120 Plasma Cutter. I am using the following settings:

85PSI
80Amps on Plasma Cutter
110 Volts set on AVHC
Cut speed is 35IPM
Cut Height .2"
Pierce Height .22"
Sensing Delay .5 seconds
Piece Delay .4 Seconds

Any help would be great.

Thanks

Pat Weier

PDJ Cutting & Fabricating
Attachments
DSCN3272.jpg
DSCN3270.jpg
DSCN3269.jpg
muzza
4 Star Member
4 Star Member

Re: Edge Issue on 3/8" Plate

Post by muzza »

I'm not really familiar with Thermal Dynamics as I use Hypertherm but what I have found usually causes that (assuming torch is correctly aligned) is the hole on the nozzle being out of round. If you cant see visual out of roundness try loosening the retainer and rotated the nozzle 90 degrees and see if the taper follows it.
Murray
jimcolt
5 Star Elite Contributing Member
5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by jimcolt »

We cut 3/8" plate with a Hypertherm Powermax85. Normally we use the 65 amp shielded consumables at book specs and edges are pretty close to square and uniform all the way around the part. Cutting with the 85 amps consumables will certainly cut faster, but with more edge taper. For best quality and best squareness w cut 3/8" with the 45 amp shielded process, again at book specs for speed, pierce height, cut height.

Book specs for the 65 amp process on a Hypertherm for 3/8" steel are:
Pierce height: .18"
Pierce delay: .7 seconds
Cut height .06"